Skip to content

Glen Ellyn Community Awards

Community Awards 2021 - Facebook Banner


November 30, 2020 - January 24, 2021


The Glen Ellyn Community Awards is a chance for the community to say THANK YOU to all the hard working public servants, teachers who are educating our children, employees who give 100%, storefronts that go the extra mile in customer service and all the amazing residents, both young and young at heart, who volunteer so much of their time and talents to make Glen Ellyn a wonderful community to live, learn, work, dine, shop & play for all.  

Event Details:

Virtual Video Presentation

Categories are:


  • Non-Profit of the Year
  • Restaurant of the Year
  • Retail Business of the Year
  • Service Industry Business of the Year


  • D41 Educator of the Year
  • D87 Educator of the Year
  • D89 Educator of the Year
  • Firefighter of the Year
  • Library Employee of the Year
  • Park District Volunteer of the Year
  • Police Officer of the Year
  • Village Employee of the Year


  • Stuart S. Stone Citizen of the Year
  • Paul Herwaldt Senior Citizen of the Year
  • Youth of the Year

Past Award Gallery

The 56th Community Award Gallery
The 55th Community Award Gallery
The 54th Community Award Gallery
The 53rd Community Award Gallery
Stuart S. Stone Citizen of Year Recipients

The Citizen of the Year award was renamed after the 2016 award recipient Stuart S. Stone, in his honor. This award is given each year to a Glen Ellyn resident. It recognizes individuals who best represent the spirit of volunteer service to the community and who have made a continuing positive impact on the quality of life in Glen Ellyn.

1963 Bill Galligan
1964 Phillip Gentry
1965 Dean Stokes
1966 George Winchell
1967 Woody Webb
1968 Jim Hill
1969 Lee Hesterman
1970 Mike Heroux
1971 Frank Wiedner
1972 Maxine Hansen
1973 Tom Lawson
1974 Connie Zimmerman
1975 Stuart S. Stone
1976 Fred Leonard
1977 Dean Olsen
1978 Mike Formento
1979 Joann Seaway
1980 Joe D’Agostino
1981 Larry Young
1982 Jane Rio
1983 Jim Bourke
1984 Steve Kennedy
1985 Frank Reno
1986 Mick & Ginny Ramsey
1987 Mike Formento
1988 Carolyn & Jay Strayer
1989 Jan & Steven Langford
1990 Tom Voltaggio
1991 Dick & Sue Zinkel
1992 Keith Schoen
1993 Phyllis Renfro
1994 Bob & Mary Luginbill
1995 Pat O’Brien
1996 C. George & Vivian Ball
1997 John Demling
1998 Bob Wahlgren
1999 Judy Higby
2003 Ron Leonard
2004 Alex Demos
2008 Dan Anderson
2009 Elizabeth Anderson
2010 Karen Evans
2011 Ruth & Keith Wright
2012 Paul Sivak
2013 Phillip Hartweg
2014 Jim Rasins
2015 Lee Marks
2016 Stuart S. Stone
2017 Gilda Ross
2018 Joyce Hothan
2019 Megan Lowrie

Scroll To Top